Presidents Cup Coming to the Carolinas in 2022

Presidents Cup Coming to the Carolinas in 2022

The moment is almost here: The U.S. against the world.

In golf. Minus Europe. The Presidents Cup, matches between the United States and an International Team, will be played in Charlotte, N.C.

It’s not to be confused with the Ryder Cup, an event with more tradition that pits Americans against A European team of golfers.

Cool Facts About the Presidents Cup

The world’s best golfers get in on the act for global bragging rights. The format is intriguing and the competition is intricate. 

  1. The Golden Bear is No. 1

Jack Nicklaus has served as Team USA captain four times, most of any player since the event’s inception in 1994. Davis Love III is serving in that role in 2022.

  1. It’s 12 v 12

This match-play format includes 30 matches between a 12-person U.S. contingent and 12 from the International Team.

  1. It began at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club

In 1994, the first competition took place in Prince William County, Va. This will be the tournament’s 14th rendition of the biannual event.

golf tournament


Team USA

A chart of qualified players reveals a team with lots of potential. The first six players qualify from FedEx Cup points. Six captain’s picks will round up the American 12 on Sept. 7.

  • Davis Love III, captain: He’s a World Golf Hall of Fame member with 21 tour wins and one major championship. … Captain of the 2012 and 2016 Ryder Cup teams. … A Charlotte native who played at the the University of North Carolina. … Founder of Love Golf Design, which has designed several courses in the Southeast. … Hit the second-longest driver ever recorded in competition (476 yards, Mercedes Championships, 2004). … Has represented the U.S. in 25 events as an amateur and pro (14 team wins and one tie).
  • Scottie Scheffler: No. 1 on the PGA Tour and a favorite to win the tour championship … Has four PGA Tour victories … Family moved from New Jersey to Texas after the Sept. 11 attacks. Scottie was 6 … Tied for 2nd at the U.S. Open, a stroke behind winner Mike Fitzpatrick … Scottie’s caddie, Ted Scott, carried for Bubba Watson for 15 years.
  • Patrick Cantlay: Ranked the No. 1 amateur for 54 consecutive weeks … The low amateur in the 2012 Masters … Played on the winning U.S. team in the 2021 Ryder Cup, going 3-0-1 … He has eight PGA tour wins.
  • Xander Schauffele: Won the Olympic gold medal in men’s golf in 2020 … His father has been his only swing coach … Played at Cal State Long Beach and San Diego State …  Became the first rookie to win the Tour Championship and the only first-year player to win a FedEx Cup playoff in 2016-17.
  • Sam Burns: Won twice on the tour in 2021 … Played on the winning 2017 Arnold Palmer Cup team, representing the U.S. … Also played on the winning 2014 Junior Ryder Cup team … Beat Scheffler in a playoff with a 38-foot birdie putt in the Charles Schwab Challenge.
  • Justin Thomas: Former world No. 1 has won the PGA Championship twice (2017, 2022) … Won a national team championship at the University of Alabama. … In 2016-17, had five wins, including his first major, was FedEx Cup champion, and Player of the Year. … He’s on the cover of a video game, PGA Tour 2K21.
  • Tony Finau: Given name is Milton Pouha Finau. … Won the Utah State Amateur in 2006. … Had college basketball scholarship offers coming out of high school. … Won on consecutive weeks in the PGA Tour in 2021-22 (3M Open, Rocket Mortgage Classic). … Is first player of Tongan and Samoan descent to play on the PGA Tour.

International Team

The world’s answer in the chase for the Presidents Cup has eight players qualified. Captain’s picks for the final four spots is expected Sept. 6.

  • Trevor Immelman, captain: A South African pro who won the 2008 Master Championship. … Enjoyed a career resurgence in 2018 on the European Tour. … In 2017, 2018, and 2019, he served as a TV analyst for the PGA Championship.
  • Hideki Matsuyama: The first Japanese pro to win a major championship (2021 Masters Tournament). … Won a gold medal in the 2011 World University Games and rose to No. 1 in the world amateur rankings in 2012. … His eight PGA Tour wins ties him with K.J. Choi for most by an Asian-born player.
  • Sungjae Im: A South Korean player who was Rookie of the Year in 2018-19 and won his first PGA Tour event, the Honda Classic, in 2020. … Played on the 2019 Presidents Cup team that lost to the U.S. in Australia.
  • Joohyung Kim: He’s a two-time PGA Tour winner from South Korea. … His father, Kim Chang-ik, was a pro player and teaching professional. … Won the Wyndham Championship to qualify for the 2022 FedEx Cup Playoffs. … Also goes by Tom, derived from childrens’ book character Thomas the Tank Engine.
  • Mito Pereira: He’s a PGA pro from Chile who earned an automatic three-win promotion from the 2020-21 Korn Ferry Tour. … Played one season at Texas Tech University before going pro. … He tied for third at the 2022 PGA Championship after leading on the final day. … Represented Chile in the 2014 Eisenhower Trophy.
  • Cameron Smith: Australian pro is a six-time PGA Tour winner, including the 2022 Players Championship and the 2022 Open Championship. … Finished second in the 2020 Masters Championship. … Scored a PGA Tour record 34-under to win the 2022 Sentry Tournament of Champions. … Has represented Australia in nine international competitions. This is his second Presidents Cup.
  • Joaquin Niemann: This two-time PGA Tour winner from Chile was the No. 1 amateur from May 2017 to April 2018. … Won the Genesis Invitational hosted by Tiger Woods in February at 19-under. … Played for Chile in the 2016 Eisenhower Trophy and the international team in the 2019 Presidents Cup.
  • Corey Conners: A PGA Tour Canada, PGA Tour Latinoamérica, and Tour pro from Canada. … Played in the 2015 Masters Tournament, then turned pro. … Lone PGA Tour win came in 2019 in the Valero Texas Open. … Teams are winless in three international appearances (Eisenhower Trophy 2012, 2014 and Aruba Cup (2016).
  • Adam Scott: An Australian PGA Tour pro and former world No. 1 (2014). … Only Australian to win the Masters tournament (2013). … He’s an avid surfer. … He’s a two-time Australian PGA Championship winner.


Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte

This course has been at the forefront of golf in the Carolinas since 1961. The pristine grounds have undergone timely renovations and reconstruction over the years, always a step ahead of need to maintain the reputation and integrity it has earned. George W. Cobb designed the original course, and Tom Fazio oversaw a reconstruction in 1997.

After hosting the PGA Championship in 2017 and Wells Fargo Championship since 2003, this will be Quail Hollow’s first Presidents Cup. It’s also been site of the Kemper Open (1969-79) and World Seniors Invitational (1980-89).

Scroll to Top